Ramkumar's scratch pad

A MoBlog to post my thoughts as and when they arise

ICE (In Car Entertainment) for My Swift is now completed!

with 11 comments

I am blogging after a long time, this time from PC instead of mobile (this post might be a bit heavier due to images in it).

For those who missed out the recent updates from me, I bought my first car – Swift VDI with ABS on 3rd March, you can see some snaps from my Facebook Profile .

ICE Setup

Coming into the audio setup, I chose a budget option as already there was a big hole on my pocket by going for the top end Maruti Swift, and already on an alloy wheel too. I chose a simple 4 speaker setup – Front components and rear full range coaxial.

Head Unit (HU)

I chose Pioneer 6200BT as the head unit for my car, bought it for about 150$ from Amazon US, this was brought to India by a colleague (Thanks John!).

image

Why did I choose this HU: My pre requisites were AUX input, USB support, 3 RCA outs (I won’t be using it right now, but in case I choose to upgrade with an amp) and Bluetooth. Main criteria was under 8k INR 🙂 In Bangalore similar configuration costs 12.5k INR, so I saved 5.5k INR by bringing it from US.

Front Components

The manual of my HU said use speakers of above 50W (the HU has built in AMP which powers 50W output), and mainly speakers with an impedance value 4-8 ohms. This is an important factor to consider, having a lesser impedance, your speakers can draw more current and are in the danger of burning out. Here is where being a techie helps! The showroom accessory guy told that there are no such problems but I chose the speakers matching the specs mentioned in my HU manual.

For the front components I chose JBL GT5 265c for which the MRP is 5990 INR.

image

Rear Speakers

Again, the criteria was 4 ohm and ovals fitting to my budget, again not compromising on the sound quality. The verdict was JBL GT6 699 6X9 ovals – MRP 4990 INR.

image

Additional accessories

The ovals needed to go on the rear parcel tray, which wasn’t present on my model of Swift. I had to take one from Maruti dealer. The parcel tray is made of MDF wood. I have quotes starting from 350 INR from JC road to 1250 INR at Maruri dealer (MGA). I settled on the MGA one, but trust me, that wasn’t a bad decision for the quality and the brand.

The installation was done at

Bimal auto agency, Mahadevapura, Bangalore. Reason: I didn’t want to experiment with the electrical warranty of my car and since I had saved enough on my head unit, there wasn’t much to save if I had gone for another shop for installation and for the speakers.

Total Cost

 

Head Unit – 7000 INR Approx.

Front Components – 5990 INR

Rear Ovals – 4990 INR

Rear parcel tray (MGA MDF) – 1250 INR

Fitting and labour – 500 INR

Apart from the HU (which was bought separately from US, the final price paid for speakers and fitting was 12k INR)

So total cost = 19k INR approx for a HU with BT and with a decent speaker setup.

Damping

I didn’t go for damping for door, since there is no power amplifier involved and there won’t be much of boom-boom which will be heard outside and which can make vibration on the door parts. At the moment I am not experiencing any need of damping.

Have a question?

Post it here!

Written by Ramkumar K R

March 27, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Posted in Automobiles

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. GREAT…. Very good review.
    How is the music quality? I am sure you are happy and comfortable with high music power quality.

    Any demo for us?

    kiran

    March 27, 2011 at 11:24 pm

  2. Congrats Ram you on your new set up… Now you are proud owner of ICE as well… Enjoy maadi…

    Narayan

    March 27, 2011 at 11:36 pm

  3. Hey

    i had a swift and i discussed on car wale and bought the setup.. u said – u suggested that the speakers should match the head unit of else they will burn.

    IS the following setup fine

    Pioneer 3090UB

    Front – JBL GTO 608

    Rear – JBL GTO 637

    I have bought one more swift. can you please suggest me a Setup

    pritam

    April 3, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    • I have not seen the specifications of Pioneer 3090, hence I will not be able to comment on your setup. The basic thing you need to check is the speaker impedence as mentioned in the manual for head unit.

      In mine, it was clearly mentioned that I should not use speakers of 1 to 3 ohms. GTO 608c and GTO 637 are 2 ohm speakers (I believe, as per what I have seen before). I was almost finalized on the speaker setup you have (GTO 948 instead of 937), but the manual made me change my selection.

      I am not an expert in ICE to suggest a configuration for you 🙂 , but what I suggest is, choose a head unit matching your requirements first (say USB, SD card, bluetooth etc), then choose the speakers as per the specifications mentioned for your head unit.

      Have a blast with your new car and the new music setup!

      Ramkumar K R

      April 3, 2011 at 10:51 pm

      • thanks for the reply
        for my swift i was looking at this setup
        pioneer 4390UB
        Front speakers – JBL GTO 608c(2ohm)
        Rear – JBL GT6 S366 3 Way Co Axial Speaker(4 ohm)
        One doubt- front speaker is 2 ohm and rear is 4 ohm will that be a problem
        Second option
        pioneer 4390UB
        Front – polk db 6501-component
        rear – polk db 651

        pritam

        April 7, 2011 at 11:19 pm

      • I was searching for the manual of 4390UB, unfortunately didn’t find it online.

        If you can, check out the manual and see what is the recommended impedance of speakers. In mine, as I said earlier, it was mentioned that I should not use speakers of 1-3 ohms.

        Impedance difference between front and back on your setup should be ok if the head unit support impedances of 2 ohm and above.

        Ramkumar K R

        April 11, 2011 at 3:47 pm

  4. […] had posted on my Swift’s audio setup earlier , the post didn’t have any snaps of the installation, but here they […]

  5. I read the manual of Pioneer 6200BT where does it say that we should not use speakers of 1-3 ohms

    pritam

    April 11, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    • Read the warning part.

      pioneer 6200bt speaker impedance.

      Ramkumar K R

      April 11, 2011 at 11:09 pm

  6. Additional cost of 15$ towards the remote for head unit (This head unit doesn’t come with a bundled remote controller 😦 ).

    Ramkumar K R

    August 3, 2011 at 2:06 pm

  7. Nice post Ram 🙂 Kudos on the setup, Hope by now you would be facing the ratters on the door pads with the front compos 😉 same as me 🙂 so Have you now decided on any damping?

    Vivek

    January 14, 2013 at 7:05 pm


Leave a comment